Bangkok

“Adventure is worthwhile.”

Admittedly, there are some things – the hot weather, the pollution, the political instability – that make Bangkok a less-than-ideal city. But there’s so much more that makes it amazing. I love the food. What other city has such a full-flavoured, no-holds-barred, insatiable, fanatical approach to eating? I love old Bangkok. Districts such as Banglamphu and Chinatown still carry the grit, charm and character of the city that used to be. And I’d be lying if I didn’t also say that I love new Bangkok – don’t we all have a soft spot for megamalls and air-con?

 

Favourite food: Pad Thai/Thai Green Curry

Track of the travel: Passionfruit – Drake

Favourite place: Dewan Hotel http://www.dewanbangkok.com/

Great rooftop pool and area for pre-drinks and chilled pool days, gives a great view of the rooftops of Bangkok, very well located on Khaosan Road

Leave a comment